1 for 2

 

 

These are two collage-y versions of t-shirts that I’ve made before: on the left, the Alison Glass pattern; on the right, the Deer & Doe Plantain.

L: Alison Glass Shirt

What’s going on with the shoulder there? Whatever it is, I can just add it to the list of this project’s “quirks.” While the dress I made from this pattern used a drapey knit, this one was snappy and rolled like crazy at the cut edge. It’s a yard of the Tokyo knit from Marcy Tilton; sleeves are 1/4 yard of a mesh knit. I’ve made this t-shirt three times, and EVERY TIME I over-trim the hem. I try it on, mark it, add 1.5″, and it STILL seems short to  me. This is the longest and most wearable version yet; my daughter pairs the others with her high-waisted 80s jeans. Might be destined for the donation pile.  And by “might” I mean “is.”

IMG_1564

FullSizeRender
umm yeah, no.

 

R: Deer & Doe Plantain

Very happy with this one. Body was a 1-yard end cut from Marcy Tilton; sleeves are a gray mesh knit from my small stash. I cut the hems along the selvedge end and felt very fancy.

IMG_1560

 

The pants are flat-front chinos from Lands End. Flat-front pants are a rare find in the RTW world and confirmation that I really need to bite the bullet and try Colette’s Clover pattern.

Shoes are  refurbished Donald J. Pliners from the thrift store: $5 + 20 minutes with the suede brush and eraser. I thought they looked vintage-y.

IMG_1554
some people restore cards. or paintings. i restore shoes.
Leave a Reply

